L’Etape Cyprus saw a star studded field, including Russian pros and ProTeam sprinter John Degenkolb (DSM), line up on Sunday for the 136 kilometers long gran fondo race. But it was 26 year-old Cypriot national road, time trial and MTB champion Andreas Miltiades who dropped all of them to solo in for the win.

Miltiades (Java Kiwi Atlántico) earned the L’Etape champion’s yellow jersey with a final time of 4:16:53, just ahead of Russian pros and brothers Adar Zakarin (4:17:12) and Ilnur Zakarin (4:17:55). Kirill Kolenchits (4:22:19), also from Russia, was fourth. 2015 Paris-Roubaix and Milan-San Remo champion John Degenkolb (4:25:38) was fifth.

For the women it was Cyprus 0-2000 gran fondo champion Anna Bicskei (Zypernbike) who easily notched another victory, pulling on the champion’s yellow jersey with a winning time of 4:58:27, over thirty minutes ahead of second place rider Madison Shadick (5:28:01) and Katherine Potsides (6:38:28).

Next March, Cyprus will host the UCI Cyprus Gran Fondo that gives amateur cyclists the chance to qualify for the 2023 UCI Gran Fondo World Championships taking place in Glasgow, Scotland GBR next August.

Complete L’Etape Cyprus results HERE.

Photos/Media: L’Etape Cyprus