Mauritius rider Le Court De Billot continued her domination at the 45th edition of the Cape Town Cycle Tour on Sunday, winning the women’s race with strong finishing kick over her breakaway companions. She completed the 79km race in 2:13:20, with Vera Looser and Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio rounding out the podium spots.

It was Le Court’s third Cape Town Cycle Tour title in a row and her fourth overall at South Africa’s biggest race.

On her final sprint to victory, the Efficient Infiniti Insure team rider said, “It was a bit tense, to be honest. With most of the sprinters back in the bunch, I was pretty nervous going into the finale. Then Candice [Lill] did a flier from the back, which was really a good move. We struggled to bring her back, and as I did, I thought it was too early to start the sprint. But everyone else was sprinting too, and I just opened it up, and no one came past. I could see a wheel looming up on my left… I know it was Vera [Looser] now. But I just hang on. And I’m really glad I could hang on to the end!”

In the men’s 109km race around the stunning Cape Peninsula, South African Chris Jooste (TufoBMC) powered to victory in a time of 02:36:14, with Andries Nigrini finishing second and Jaedon Terlouw third.

Jooste was over the moon at earning the biggest win of his career. This is the pinnacle of the sport in South Africa. This is an incredible feeling. I’ve won every age category since U12, so this is amazing.”

Billed as “The Biggest Timed Bike Race In The World,” Cape Town Cycle Tour attracts tens of thousands of cyclists each year competing in various men’s and women’s categories, including elites, U15, masters age groups, hand cyclists, and tandem riders. 

One of the goals of the event is to encourage and develop young South African riders, and U15 racer Ronaldo Levendall showcased the success of the program by defeating 767 riders (many much older) to win the 42km race in 1:17:38.

Complete Cape Town Cycle Tour results HERE.

Photo Credit: Cape Town Cycle Tour

© 2019-2023 All Rights Reserved Gran Fondo Daily News / GFDN