Metepec, Mexico hosted the third edition of L’Etape Estado de Mexico by Tour de France for 1500 elite and amateur cyclists racing 110 and 75 kilometers long routes, including three mountain passes with grades up to 10 percent.

After 110km, semi-pro rider Luis Álvarez Ayala showed that at 34 years-old he still has what it takes to win, again, repeating as L’Etape Estado de Mexico champion. The ex-pro rider, who has stood on the podium of the Mexico National Road Championships four times, reached the gran fondo finish solo, arms up and smiling, stopping the clock at 2:58:19.

“It’s always nice to win at home, with the support of your family, your people, it makes it doubly interesting because I had no intention of coming; however, the opportunity was given,” he said.

Rolling in almost two minutes later 26 year-old Alonso Mayer (3:00:00) finished second and third place went to 27 year-old Miguel Ángel Díaz Herrera (3:02:52).

In the women’s 110km gran fondo race, first place went to Sofía Zárate with a final time of 3:23:41. In second place was Adela Covarrubias (3:23:45), and third place went to Daniela González (3:23:57).

In the women’s 75km medio fondo, Roxana León García stepped onto the top of the podium by finishing 2:04:54, while Fernanda Gutiérrez Pérez (2:04:55) finished just behind and Grecia Reynoso Martínez (2:09:36) claimed third place.

For the 75km men, Víctor Álvarez achieved first place with a time of 1:54:57, in second place was Javier Albarrán (1:57:26), and third place was obtained by Alfredo Vencis Ramírez (1:57:38).

Complete L’Etape Estado de Mexico results HERE.

Photos: L’Etape Mexico